LOOK BACK 2013: CANCUN

Image

My friend recommend Cancun to me,  she had gone on honeymoon there and raved about it. Researching, I found lots of hotels that would suit us, but they were very family orientated. I came across Isla Mujeres Palace through Travel Bag. I had used this company to travel around Australia in 2005. This taken from their website – was why I booked for us to go there;

‘Designed for an intimate island experience, Isla Mujeres Palace offers 62 beautifully appointed accommodations offering island, pool or ocean views and balconies, double Jacuzzis, mini bars, 24 hour room service, wireless internet and more. Rejuvenate, revitalize and reconnect while each request you make is fulfilled with an incomparable degree of thoughtfulness by our friendly staff. Enjoy a late brunch or beach level spa services, catch a seaside nap in a hammock by the pool or just stroll on the undisturbed beach.’

We flew with British Airways, and arrived in Cancun. It was hot, sticky and we were then transferred to the ferry to make our way to the ferry. We were not impressed with this. We had paid over £50 each for our transport, that did not take us to our hotel. That was from the airport to the ferry. We had to make our own way to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel, and shown our room. It was really nice – we had a double Jacuzzi in our room. Not something we had seen in hotel rooms. But this is common with the Palace brand.

Image

That afternoon, we went to visit the Turtle Farm which was next door.  And the next morning, we went to Dolphin Discovery – which was at the other end of the island. And that afternoon, I came out in spots. I had caught chicken pox. So that was all I managed to do. I was confined to my hotel room, for the rest of the trip. But I did have a nice view.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

